San Diego
 Canoe Kayak


2017 - 2018 Lightning, SUP CUP & EpicV7 Race Dates:

TBA - Friday, Oct 2017 - SDCKT Boathouse 

TBA - Friday, Nov 2017 - SDCKT Boathouse

Saturday, Dec 9th, 2017 - Tecolote 5K - SDCKT Boathouse

TBA - Hano Hano Race, Saturday, Jan 2018, San Diego (Bonita Cove-opposite the Roller Coaster)

TBA - Friday, Feb 2018 - SDCKT Boathouse

TBA - Saturday, March, 2018 - Dana Point

2015/2016 Race Results

2013/2014 Race Results

SDCKT Lightning, SUP CUP & Epic V7 Race Series

The Lightning Class Series is held Friday nights on a time trial format at SDCKT's Fiesta Island location. The idea behind the Lightning series is to give our younger paddlers an opportunity to race when there is no workout scheduled on the Saturday due to the Racing Team Competing in the SOCAL Winter Race Series. The Tecolote 5000 and the Hano Hano races are in San Diego and considered part of the Lightning Series as well as the Dana Pt. race. This is for 14&U to 12&U beginners to intermediate paddlers who are able to paddle 1000m in a Lightning kayak. Mexican Teams from Ensenada and Tijuana frequently join us for these exciting races in the "little yellow boats"!


The SDCKT Lightning Class Boats were purchased from  KAYAKPRO thanks to a Grant frrom the LA84 Foundation. Epic V7's have been added this year (2016/2017) thanks to another Grant from the LA84 Foundation


Must Race in a Lightning, Points of 20, 19.18 etc awarded to fastest finish at each Lightning Race.  1 extra points awarded to 12 and Under age category. At Tecolote and other races points given based on finish order. Athletes will be ranked based on their top 5 races in the series. Ties are broken by total of all races. 


The SDCKT SUP Cup Series is an excellent way for young watermen and waterwomen to learn how to race SUP in a kid friendly novice atmosphere. Points are totalled for the 9 race series and each kids 5 best races count towards the overall SUP Cup winners. Young SUP paddlers also get to try their skills at kayaking in the Lightning Series!

This is for 14&U to 12&U beginners to intermediate paddlers who are able to paddle 1000m on a SUP.


Must Race on a 14' or less SUP, Points of 20, 19.18 etc awarded to fastest finish at each Lightning Race.  1 extra points awarded to 12 and Under age category. At Tecolote and other races points given based on finish order. Athletes will be ranked based on their top 5 races in the series. Ties are broken by total of all races.

2013 Lightning Series Champions                       2013 SUP Cup Champions

2012 Lightning Class Champions - Noa Hopper and Josie Ballard

The 2011-2012 Lightning Class Series turned into a repeat of last year with overall points winners once again being Noa Hopper and Josie Ballard. Points were awarded to the top finishers based on their age and their best finshes in 5 out of the 9 races.

Noa Hopper was unbeatable this year with a perfect 210 points despite outstanding performances by newcomer and 2 years younger Evan Truesdale who was close behind with 204 points.  

On the ladies side Josie Ballard led the series from the start scoring a total of 208 points, and this is the 2nd time Josie has her name added to the Trophy. The future looks good for the Bantam girls team as Josie was closley followed by Mira Corrao (205) and Lauryn DaCosta (201) and Lilly Glasser. 


SDCKT is a 501(c)(3) NonProfit #33-0802871

PayPal Acceptance Mark
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software